Tag Archives: Britcar Endurance Championship

Britcar Endurance Championship launches 2019 season at Silverstone

Britcar Endurance Championship kicked off the season at Silverstone last weekend with wins for Tim Gray in the VR Motorsport Praga R1T and John Seale and Marcus Clutton in the JMH Automotive Lamborghini Huracan.

Race one got under way, with Gray taking an immediate lead, but in the opening lap the safety car was brought out after Team ABBAs BMW M3 had ended up in the gravel, finishing the race for father and son duo Richard and Sam Neary and bringing the safety car out. After the safety car period was lifted, Gray in the VR Motorsport Praga immediately began to extend the lead ahead of Ross Wylie in the FF Corse Ferrari 488.

There was misfortune later on when MIke Moss suffered an engine failure which took him into the gravel at Club Corner and out of the race. It was also unlucky for #13 Mclaren of Stuart Willson and Will Alterman who retired from the race 27 laps in after contact with Paul Calladine in his Ginetta G40 an incident that also ended his race.

At the front Gray continued to do battle this time with second place Marcus Clutton, who had made headway into Gray’s lead, but as the chequered flag fell it was Gray who was triumphant, Clutton and Seale in second place with Jonny MacGregor and Ben Sharich in third place in the Taranis.

Late afternoon saw the second of the 2 hour races get underway with Tim Gray initially taking the lead, however at 20 minutes in, the Praga pitted suffering an electric failure that sadly took Gray out of the race.

The lead passed to Ross Wylie until during pit stops Sam Neary inherited the lead before handing over the BMW to Richard Neary, Neary had to serve a penalty for a regulation infringement incurred on Sam’s stint, but that didn’t alter the pace held by Neary at the front of the race, until giving way to the Lamborghini Huracan of John Seale and Marcus Clutton who went on to take the race win a lap ahead of the McLaren of Lucky Khera and Lee Frost with the ING Sport BMW of Kevin Clarke and Ryan Lindsay taking third place.


The grid boasted more than 30 entries ranging from the Praga R1T to Seat Cupras to three Ferrari 488’s. This season Bitcar has adopted a single championship format run over two one hour races, dispensing with the previous sprint and endurance arrangement. This new format is popular with drivers and continues to attract entries to the championship.

The next round is on the Silverstone Grand Prix circuit on April 27th.

Images ©Allison Remzi

Full gallery available at www.finishlinephotos.net

Britcar Endurance Championship 2018 Opens at Rockingham

As the Britcar Endurance Championship 2018 opened at Rockingham it was a double win for Richard Neary in the Sprint category. Neary who has competed the last few years in British GT in the stunning Team ABBA Mercedes AMG, alongside Martin Short, saw off challenges by the Ferrari 458 of David Mason and Ross Wylie in race one and the Ferrari 488 of John Seale in race two.

Neary finished more than a minute ahead of Mason and Wyle in the opening race, while in the second race just under 3 seconds ahead of John Seale.

The endurance category was dominated by the two Black Mamba Racing Ginetta GT4’s, #22 driven by Andy Demetriou and Luke Williams, and Chris Papageorgiou and Jayde Kruger in #6. Demetriou/Williams took the endurance win in race one and third overall, with the #6 car taking second in class, barely seconds behind.

Taking third and fourth in class was the Team Hard Ginetta pairings of Simon Rudd and Tom Barley in #24 and #285 of Darron Lewis and Adam Hatfield.

In the second Endurance race it was another great show for Demetriou/Williams who took first overall and first in class, with the Track Focused KTM X Bow of Mike McCollum and Sean Cooper taking second and Team Hards Rudd/Barley completing the podium in third place.

Also out on track was Stewart Lines who currently competes in the newly launched TCR UK series. Alongside him in the Maximum Motorsport SEAT Cupra was BTCC competitor Adam Morgan.

From the TCR UK series was Darrelle Wilson in the beautiful Porscheshop 911 alongside Ian Heward. While it was also great to see  BTCC Rob Austins old Audi A4 “Sherman” in the hands of Alex and Robert Day.

The Championship continues at Silverstone on May 12th.

Images ©Andy Fitzpatrick