Tag Archives: 1000 Miles of Sebring

Toyota win 1000 Miles of Sebring

Pole sitters Fernando Alonso, Kazuki Nakajima and Sébastien Buemi took the win in the #8 Toyota after an untroubled race at the Florida circuit, a first win for the trio since 2018’s 24 of Le Mans. Sister car #7 helmed by Mike Conway, Kamui Kobayashi and Jose Maria Lopez failed to give the #8 crew close competition, when the car with Lopez at the wheel lost almost two laps after contact with the #90 TF Sport Aston Martin of Jonny Adam, put them in the pits with floor damage to the TS050.
Podium, 1000 Miles of Sebring, Sebring International Raceway, Sebring, Florida

In the closing half hour of the race, heavy rain fell causing a scramble to the pits to change to wet tyres. There was misfortune for Loic Duval, crashing the TDS Racing LMP2 as the minutes ticked down, bringing out the safety car, not releasing the cars until just before the chequered flag dropped. Second across the line was the #7 Toyota with the #11 SMP Racing car of Brendon Hartley, Mikhail Aleshin and Vitaly Petrov, taking the third step on the podium.

In LMP2 it was Will Stevens, David Heinemeier-Hansson and Jordan King who took the win in the #37 Jackie Chan DC Racing car. Completing the LMP2 podium was #36 Signatech Alpine Matmut’s Nicolas Lapierre, Pierre Thiriet and André Negrão, with Anthony Davidson, Pastor Maldonado and Roberto Gonzalez taking third place in the #31 DragonSpeed Oreca.

With two rounds left of the 2018/19 Super Season, the #37 Jackie Chan DC racing squad lead the points in LMP2.

#37 Jackie Chan DC Racing Oreca 07: David Heinemeier Hansson, Jordan King, Will Stevens , 1000 Miles of Sebring, Sebring International Raceway, Sebring, Florida

GTE Pro found the Porsche GT Team #91 of Gianmaria Bruni and Richard Lietz take the win with BMW Team MTEK of Alexander Sims, Nicky Catsburg and Martin Tomczyk in second place. Third step of the podium went to #67 Ford Chip Ganassi’s Jonathan Bomarito, Andy Priaulx and Harry Tincknell.

While in GTE Am, the pole sitter #77 Dempsey-Proton Racing Porsche of Christian Ried, Julien Andlauer and Matt Campbell had a faultless race taking their second consecutive win. The #54 Spirit of Race Ferrari of Francesco Castellacci, Thomas Flohr and Giancarlo Fisichella taking second place and Team Project 1’s Porsche 911 of Patrick Lindsey, Jorg Bergmeister and Egidio Perfetti.

WEC returns to Spa-Francorchamps for the penultimate round of the 2018/19 season, on May 2nd.

Images ©Fozzy Images