Motorsport UK British Rallycross Championship returns to Silverstone for 2019 opener

Julian Godfrey had a storming round at Silverstone for the opening of the 2019 Motorsport UK British Rallycross season, taking the fastest time in qualifying and leading from the front in the final. Taking second place was three time Irish Rallycross Champion and two times European Rallycross Champion Derek Tohill aboard his Ford Fiesta. Completing the podium was Patrick Doran who fought hard with Steve Hill throughout the event.

There was some misfortune for Mike Manning who took a retirement in Q1 and missed Q2, but was back out in Q3. While Liam Manning also retired early on in the final, Ollie O’Donovan and Oliver Bennett both retiring after the mornings practice.

The Junior Rallycross Championship found Luke Constantine taking the win after losing his pole position early on,

but fought back crossing the line just ahead of Patrick O’Donovan with Robert Vitols in third place.

In the Supernational class current Champ Tristan Ovenden took a dominant win with Jack Thorne in the Renault Twingo taking second place and Peter McGarry taking the third step of the podium after some close racing with Thorne.

In the support races Steve Harris in his Ford RS200 took the win in the Retro Rallycross Championship just ahead of Derrick Jobb in his Ford Escort Cosworth. In the Swift Sport Rallycross Championship Dominic Flitney was victorious after doing battle with current Junior Rallycross Champion Tom Constantine who eventually finished in second place ahead of Max Weatherley.

The BMW Mini Rallycross Championship was dominated by reigning champ David Bell, with Drew Bellerby in second place. Third place went to Martin Hawkes just ahead of brother Andrew Hawkes.

In the RX150 Championship Marc Scott took the win when Brett Harris, who had crossed the line first, was penalised for not taking his joker lap. Second place went to Stephen Jones with Chrissy Palmer in third place.

The Championship continues at Lydden Hill on April 22nd( Easter Bank Holiday Monday)

Images ©Andy Fitzpatrick 

Full gallery available at