BRSCC Races at Rockingham

Last weekend saw the return of the BRSCC Race Weekend to a scorching Rockingham. The club which is more than 70 years old runs some of the most popular and diverse championships in British motorsport.

A packed timetable at the Corby circuit saw great racing action from a variety of BRSCC Championships, from the Drayton Manor Park MG Metro Cup to the sports prototypes in the OSS Championship. After a busy morning of qualifying on the Saturday, the first race got underway, the Track Attack Race Clubs trio of series, the Nippon Challenge- races open to any Asian Brand, the Tricolore Trophy- open to production and modified Citroen/Peugeot or Renault. And finally Multi Marques, which is open to any brand of modified sports, coupe or saloon car.

A large entry list saw Tony Hunter in his Silverstone Golf Club sponsored Renault Clio take the win in race one and two, with James Breeze, Chris Bassett, Don Hughes and Nick Gwinnett completing the podiums in race one and two respectively.

The Mazda MX-5 SuperCup, which currently runs as a support race on the new TCR UK series package, displayed some fantastic racing and a packed grid of 24 entries. The top of the championship standings sees a tight race between top three drivers Luke Herbert, James Blake-Baldwin and Jack Harding with very few points dividing them.

And so it was that those three dominated the first two races with Jack Harding taking the top step of the podium in race one and three and third place in race two. While James Blake-Baldwin took the win in race two and second place in race one, Luke Herbert took third place in race one and second place in race two. Completing the podium in race three was Steve Roberts in second place and 2017 rookie of the year Aidan Hills in third place.  

The popular Toyo Tires Porsche Championship also featured, with the added twist in their third reverse grid race, of a mandatory pit stop. This added a lot of fun to the final race and was a popular addition amongst the teams.

Race one saw the first win of the weekend for a dominant, championship leading Adam Southgate. Second place in Class A(Race Boxster) was Kevin Molyneaux and Jesse Chamberalin in third. While Gavin Johnson took the Class C win in his Porsche 924.

The second race on Sunday saw Karl Rossin join the grid on the back row after missing qualifying on Saturday and joining the Production GTi Championship for their qualifying session in his 924, eventually finishing the race third in class and thirteenth overall. Jamie Callender borrowed a Boxster to compete after being disqualified in race one, due to a missing roof and screen, however a repeat of overheating problems that had struck in race one brought his race to a halt on the sixth lap.

There was another second podium place for Kevin Molyneaux, with Garry Lawrence completing the Class A podium, Gavin Johnson and Hugh Peart hit the podium again in Class C accompanied by Rossin in third place.

Race three saw the reverse grid and Andrew Baker on pole however Nick Hull was quick to take the lead before Jesse Chamberlain took it from him. However a spin at Gracelands saw him rejoin in fourth place. Adam Southgate again powered on now in the lead and as the pit window, the grid began to peel off to complete the mandatory pit stops.

At the chequered flag Southgate took his third win of the weekend with Nick Hull in second place and Garry Lawrence in third. Class C saw Rossin on the top step of the podium with Hugh Peart in second and Richard Matthews in third.

Next up was the Fiesta Championship with MRF Tyres which saw pole sitter Ryan Faulconbridge take the win in race one joined on the podium by Myles Baker in second place and Richard Ashmole in third place. Race two on Sunday saw Faulconbridge again on the podium in second place with Harry Gooding taking the top step and Jamie Going in third place.

While race three saw Gooding again take the win with Going in second place and Tom Hutchins in third. This puts Gooding in the lead in the Championship standings, just 4 points ahead of Jamie White.

The Speed Group OSS Championship saw a grid of fifteen prototype machines take to the circuit from Radicals to a Juno to a Chrysler Jade. The championship races weren’t without their problems, the heat bringing challenges for many competitors. But in race one it was Josh Smith who took the chequered flag in his Radical PR6, with Patrick Sherrington in the MCR Sport who came second and Joe Stables in the Radical Pro 6 taking third place.

The podium positions were repeated in the second race however race three saw a change in order when in the opening laps Joe Stables had to retire with engine problems, leaving the top two positions in the hands again of Josh Smith and Patrick Sherrington while Daniel Prendergast took third place.  

In the very competitive Drayton Manor MG Metro Cup there were two races with Jack Ashton taking the win in race one, Dick Trevett in second place and older Ashton brother Andrew in third place. Race two found Andrew Ashton this time taking the win, Trevett again in second place and Przemyslaw Glodek in third place. The series continues at Donington in July.

The Speed Group F1000 races gave spectators a chance to see some fantastic single seater racing. The championship which was formerly Formula Jedi, sees machines on track powered by 1000cc motorbike engines. The series is a cost effective way into single seater racing and has been the launch pad for many successful drivers. First place in race one was Robert Sayell, second place Paul Butcher and third place Michael Watton who currently sits at the top of the championship results 4 points ahead of Dan Clowes.

In race two the podium was shuffled with Paul Butcher in first place, Robert Sayell in second and Watton again in third. But race three the final race of the weekend, saw Sayell again on the top step, Dan Clowes in second and Adam Walker in third. The championship continues on the the TCR UK support package at Castle Combe on July 14th/15th.

The Fiesta Junior Championship is a great stepping stone for young drivers moving up through motorsport, with entries open for competitors aged 14 to 17, giving the championship a deserved reputation as a highly competitive and flourishing junior series. With a modest grid of 9 entries there was still some great racing to enjoy for some promising youngsters. In race one Championship leader Magnus Kriklywi was set to take the top step of the podium but a 2 second penalty for a driving safety infringement saw him moved back to second place handing the win to James Waite, Oliver Turner joining them on the third step.

The second race of the weekend however saw Kriklywi redeem himself finishing just over a second ahead James Waite and Isaac Smith in third place. Abby Lock was awarded the Driver of the Meeting.

The Teekay Coupling GTi Championship is a very popular one make championship with a Mk 5 and Mk 2 class. The principles of the championship is to keep costs and modifications low and driving standards high. Race one saw Paul Blackburn take the chequered flag ahead of Simon Hill in second place and John Mawdsley in third. All three in the Mk5 class while top of Mk2 was Tim Hartland, Chris Webb and Dan Gibbs.

Race two belonged to Mk5s Martyn Walsh, with James Colbourne in second and Paul Blackburn in third. While Mk2 class winning line up remained the same as in race one.

Rounds 7 & 8 take place at Castle Combe on the TCR UK package.

Images ©Allison Remzi