Historic Sports Car Club Silverstone Finals

A blustery Silverstone played host to the Historic Sports Car Clubs Finals meetings, where  packed grids of classes from 70’s Road Sports and Historic Formula Ford to the Guards Trophy and Derek Bell Trophy wrapped up what has been a busy season, ahead of the final outing for the HSCC at the prestigious Walter Hayes Trophy meeting.

There were more than twenty entries for the two Historic Formula Ford Championship races,  with marques such as Merlyn, Elden and Crosslee pitted against each other. The Championship open to any Formula Ford 1600 originally built and restored before 1971 was taken by Michael O’Brien who also took the win in race one.

Joining him on the podium was Callum Grant in second place and Ed Thurston in third. The second race found championship runner up Richard Tarling in first place with Callum Jackson in second and Callum Grant in third.

The Classic Clubmans Championship saw a large grid of entrants in predominantly various MK’s of Mallocks but also racing was a Lola,a Royale and a Phantom. The Championship is for Pre-1981 front-engined Clubmans sports racing cars divided into 4 classes including an invitational class.

Taking the race win was Alan Cook with David Wale in second and John Harrison in third place.

In 70’s Sports Cars there was a fantastic grid of over thirty cars including a Vauxhall Firenza, Lotus Europa, MG B and Marcos 1800GT. Also joining the class was 1970 24 Hours of Le Mans winner Richard Attwood.

Attwood also a former Formula One driver raced the Porsche 928 which celebrates its 40th anniversary this year. Winning the race in his Datsun 240Z was Charles Barter, the new series Champion(and father of Julian Barter-last years Champion). In second place was Daniel Pickett in the Morgan Plus 8 while completing the podium was Richard Attwood.

Historic Formula 3 with Historic Formula Libre was a fantastic grid of cars built between 1964 and 1970, from Brabhams to Chevrons to a Crossle. Taking the win in the race was Mark Goodyear in the Lotus 59 with Andrew Hibberd in second place and Jon Millcevic in third place.

Millcevic however takes the 2017 Championship title.

Next up was the Guards Trophy, a series that is contested by pre 1966 GT’s and pre 1969 sports cars. Also included is an invitational class for sports cars built before 1968. The series runs to a mini enduro format. The hour long race was won by Michael and Will Schryver in the Chevron B6 with James Schryver in second place in his Chevron B8, with Charles Allison also in a Chevron B8 taking the final step on the podium.

Historic Formula Junior Rear Engine race one found Cameron Jackson in first place in the Brabham BT2, Andrew Hibberd taking second place in his Lotus 22, while in third was Benn Tilley also in a Lotus 22. In race two Jackso returned to the podium in first place with Andrew Hibberd again in second place while this time in third was Sam Wilson.

The Historic Formula Junior Front Engine series race one was taken by Mark Woodhouse in his Elva 100, second place going to Nick Taylor also in a Elva 100 with Charlie Besley in third position. Race two also found Woodhouse and Taylor in the top two positions this time joined in third by Justin Fleming in the Lola MK2.

The prestigious Derek Bell Trophy sees Formula 5000 and Formula 2 single seaters that were raced between 1967 and 1979. It includes classes for Classic Clubmans, Formula Atlantic and later Formula Ford 2000 and Formula Three cars.  Winning Race one was Michael Lyons in his  Gurney-Eagle FA74, while in second place was Jamie Brashaw in his March 73A, third place going to Mark Dwyer in the March 742.  Race two again found Lyons and Brashaw in first and second place this time joined by Neil Glover in the Chevron B37.

The Historic Touring Cars Championship which is open to cars in production prior to 1966 saw a wonderful grid including Alfa Romeo Guilia Sprint, Singer Chamois, Ford Anglia and Hillman Imp.  The winner in race one was Peter Hallford in his Ford Mustang, in second place also driving a Mustang was Alex Thistlethwayte, while taking third place was Richard Belcher in a Ford Lotus Cortina. Race two again saw the same three competitors arrive at the podium in the same positions.

The popular Historic Formula Ford 2000 championship which sees cars that were raced prior to 1980 was won in race one by Andrew Park in his Reynard SF81, while in second place was Ian Pearson in the Royale RP30, Benn Simms in the Reynard SF77 taking third place. Race two found Park again on top step of the podium with Simms in second place and Callum Grant in third place in his third trip to the podium of the weekend.

The Classic Formula 3 series is a great chance to see F3 cars originally built and raced between 1971 and 1984, there is also invitation classes open to Formula Ford 2000 cars built prior to 1983 and Formula Super Vee cars with water cooled engines built prior to 31st December 1980. Taking race one was Pat Gormley in the Safir RJF3, in second Cameron Jackson in the Euroracing 101 and in third Gaius Ghinn in the Ralt RT3. Race two found Ghinn this time taking the win with Richard Trott in the Chevron B43 in second and Tom Smith In the March 793 in third place.

The Historic Road Sports Championship is open to production sports and GT cars built and registered between 1947 and 1969 that have a period competition history, and with entrants such as MG B’s, Lotus Elans and Morgan 8s it is another fantastic championship for any historic racing fan to enjoy.  The day belonged to the Morgan 8 with first and third position occupied by drivers of the marque, William Plant in first place and Richard Plant in third, with second place occupied by John Davison in the Lotus Elan S1.

Despite the challenging weather conditions, it was a great weekends racing and season finale for many of the HSCC’s excellent championships.

The HSCC’s  Walter Hayes Trophy returns to Silverstone on November 4th and 5th.

Allison Remzi    Images ©Andy Fitzpatrick