BRDC Formula 3 season closer at Donington

The final round of British Formula 3 took place at Donington last weekend, the Championship title was already won by Carlin Motorsports Enaam Ahmed following the Snetterton round but that didn’t mean that racing fans were denied the pleasure of seeing close competitive racing. The paddock had tested at Donington on Thursday where they found horrendous conditions in torrential rain, with several cars aquaplaning on track, but the conditions brightened from Saturday onwards and the stage was set for the final three races of the season. 

Race one found pole sitter Ben Hingeley hold off Ahmed to take first place, with Ahmed having to settle for second, despite maintaining pressure on Hingeley throughout.

Third place went to Cameron Das, who managed to pass Chase Owen but was unable to beat his way past the two race leaders. Newcomer Alex Quinn finished in 11th place after fighting with Manuel Maldonando for a top ten position but was dropped back after receiving a penalty for exceeding track limits.

It was Hingeleys fourth win of the season and put him in third place in the championship standings.

The second race was Jordan Cane’s in his third win of the season, coming after pole sitter and race leader Nicolai Kjaergard was taken out of the race on the 12th lap by Douglas Motorsports Callan O Keefe.

The pair had been fighting in the top two positions throughout but following the incident Jordan Cane took the lead, with Chase Owen just behind him, James Pull then passed O Keefe as he hurtled out across the grass at Esses, completing the podium positions and leaving the way open for the rest of the field.

It was fitting in the final race of 2017 that the top step of the podium should belong to Enaam Ahmed in his incredible 13th win of the season.

A race that saw him make an audacious move on Cameron Das who had led for the first seven laps.  Jordan Cane then took his chance and overtook Das,

Enaam Ahmed 2017 BRDC F3 Champion

Das sustaining damage to the front wing then had to pit, rejoining the race but eventually dropping down the order into 11th place. All of which left Jordan Cane in second and Alex Quinn in third place.


The final top ten in the  2017 Championship standings are:

1 Enaam Ahmed 654
2 James Pull 490
3 Ben Hingeley 444
4 Toby Sowery 432
5 Cameron Das 425
6 Callan O Keefe 373
7 Chase Owen 302
8 Jordan Cane 288
9 Jamie Chadwick 264
10 Nicolai Kjaergaard 247

Allison Remzi        Images ©Andy Fitzpatrick    ©Allison Remzi