BTCC Silverstone, Wins for Ingram, Goff and Neal

As the penultimate round moved to Silverstone, and with all to play for it was Tom Ingram, Jack Goff and Matt Neal who were successful in the three rounds.  Saturday’s qualifying saw an unprecedented less than a second gap across the entire field, but it was Eurotech Racings Jack Goff who led the pack and took pole in race one. However it was Speedwork Motorsports Tom Ingram who took the win in what was an eventful first race.  

Ingram quickly passed Goff early on with Adam Morgan just behind them however further back down the field contact between Chris Smiley and Aron Taylor-Smith had a knock on effect which culminated in Rob Collard careering off track onto the wet grass and rejoining the track to crash into Andrew Jordan and Will Burns crashing into Collard. 21617727_10154913484352543_2469243390038885888_nThe safety car was brought out but swiftly after the race was red flagged to allow Burns to be airlifted to hospital with suspected broken ribs and bruised lung and Collard to also seek a medical examination of a back injury. Both drivers were later discharged. However this brought the race to an early end and podium places to Ingram, Goff and Morgan.

Race two found Goff again on the podium, this time in first place after an epic battle with Ingram for P1,

21752025_10154913484422543_5890313056513591352_n third place on the podium was eventually awarded to Colin Turkington after a last ditch dive by Ashley Sutton down the inside of Turkington was reviewed by stewards post race and deemed unfair, Sutton incurred his third penalty strike of the season and was moved to the back of the grid for race three.

It was Matt Neals race in the final round as he sprinted to P1 after starting in fourteenth place. The race also found a great battle between Norlins Dave Newsham and Power Maxed Racings Rob Huff. Huff, 2012 WTCC champion, who was making a one off appearance in the championship to stand in for Tom Chilton who recovers from an operation, eventually finished second with Newsham in third.21616397_10154913484492543_1499652191297349639_n

So as the final round at Brands Hatch looms it is Ash Sutton and Colin Turkington who lead the championship with 328 points a piece.

While in the Jack Sears Trophy Senna Proctor, all but takes the title holding a 97 point lead over nearest contender Ant Whorton-Eales.

A statement by BTCC Series Director was released earlier in which Alan Gow remarked he was unhappy with the amount of damage and contact between competitors and the series’ intention to continue to issue tougher penalties in an aim to remove unnecessary contact in the championship.

The final round at Brands Hatch takes place on the 30th September/1st October.


Allison Remzi       Images © Andy Fitzpatrick