British GT Silverstone 500 Triumph for Parfitt and Morris

It was an emotional finish to the weekend for Rick Parfitt Jr and Seb Morris when they took the win in the 500km British GT race at the Northamptonshire circuit, which now puts them a mere 4 points behind current championship leaders Barwells Jon Minshaw and Phil Keen. WEC_4115A visibly emotional Parfitt dedicated the team’s win to his late father.
As overall winners the Team Parker duo were awarded for the first time, the 1932 RAC Trophy. The award first presented in 1932 to the winner of the 500 mile race at Brooklands, will continue to be presented to the winners of the Silverstone 500, the British GT’s 3 hour, blue riband event. They were also awarded the Blancpain Gentlemans Driver award.Parfitt Jnr quickly took the lead

Parfitt Jr took the lead from pole sitter Macmillan AMR’s James Littlejohn and the Team Parker Racing duo held it throughout the race eventually finishing with more than a minutes lead on Littlejohn and Mitchell.

Ian Loggie in the second Team Parker Bentley fought a tough campaign for third place, however a crash later on in the final hour took Loggie and Calum Macleod out of the fight, with those honours going to Spirit of Race’s Duncan Cameron and Matt Griffin despite a difficult start for Griffin that found him losing his initial third place and dropping several spots down the field.


In his final British GT race as he steps back to concentrate on his team management role, Martin Short along with co-drivers Team ABBA with Rollcentre Racing’s Richard Neary and Adam Christodoulou finished in 5th place, Christodoulou during his stint fighting hard with Team Parker Racings Loggie.


In GT4 pole sitters Will Tregurtha and Stuart Middleton didn’t have the race they had hoped for when after only two laps the HHC Motorsports Ginetta G55 suffering driveshaft failure, was returned to the pits. Macmillan AMR’s William Phillips and UltraTek Racing Team RJN’s Kelvin Fletcher fought hard, outpacing Black Bull Garage 59’s Ciaran Haggerty but eventually it was Adam Balon and Adam Mackay in the Track Club McLaren who pushed through with the Academy Motorsport Aston Martin of Matt Nicoll-Jones and Will Moore taking second place barely ahead of third place sitters IN2Racings Marcus Hogarth and Matthew Graham.

In their new PMW Expo Racing/Optimum Motorsports Mclaren 570S, current champs Mike Robinson and Graham Johnson finished in 6th place while their teammates for the occasion in the Ginetta G55, Bradley Ellis and Ade Barwick completed the race just behind in seventh place.


This now leaves everything to play for in the Championship standings as Alex Reed and David Pittard sit less than 4 points ahead of Adam Balon and Adam Mackay.


The next round is at Spa-Francorchamps July 7th-8th


Allison Remzi         Images©Andy Fitzpatrick

                         Pit Photography ©Allison Remzi