British GT Snetterton: Barwell assault continues

In race one it was a takeover by Barwell as the pairing of Minshaw and Keen took their 3rd race win of the season. And with Tordoff and Griffin taking the second step on the podium the team continue to power through the Championship. 

Rick Parfitt initially had the Team Parker Racing Bentley in third place but a 10 second success penalty taken by Seb Morris after pit stops then dropped the duo down into 4th place, however the duo were served a further 30 second penalty post race due to a short pit stop which then dropped them into 7th place.

In GT4, current class Championship leaders HHC Motorsports Will Tregurtha and Stuart Middleton took the top of the podium, after a hard fought battle with Lanan Racings Alex Reed and David Pittard.

A 10 second penalty after pit stops put the HHC Motorsports Ginetta G55 behind Pittard, however the close fighting continued and with Black Bull Garage 59’s Ciaran Haggerty also involved in the spat and less then a second between them it took a decisive move by Middleton to cross the finish line with 2 seconds between him and following Pittard and Haggerty 2 seconds behind him.

Race two saw Jonny Adam and Derek Johnston take an historic 11th win, equalling the most British GT3 wins of Hector Lester and David Ashburn. Barwell’s Minshaw and Keen were denied another step on the podium despite keeping a rapid pace due to a success penalty from race one and a drive through penalty fr being just under their pit stop time that gave TF Sports Adam and Johnston the advantage.

Taking second place in their second visit to the podium at Snetterton was Tordoff and Griffin, with TF Sport also claiming third place, Mark Farmer and Jon Barnes making their way up the field after contact between Morris and Griffin, and Calum Macleod’s Bentley suffering a puncture, handed them the advantage.

Black Bull Garage 59’s Ciaran Haggerty and Sandy Mitchell took the win in GT4, their first of the season, with Lana Racings Alex Reed and David Pittard taking second place and third step on the podium going to David Pattison and Joe Osborne of Tolman Motorsport.


The current Team Championship standings sees Black Bull Garage 59 leading in GT4 with Barwell Motorsport leading in GT3. The pairing of Minshaw and Keen leed in GT3, 24.5 points ahead of Parfitt and Morris, while in GT4 William Tregurtha and Stuart Middleton top the table just under 10 points ahead of Alex Reed and David Pittard.

The next round continues at Silverstone on June 10th/11th with the 3 hour Silverstone 500 event.


Allison Remzi

Photography ©Andy Fitzpatrick

Pit photography ©Allison Remzi