40 years of Williams- F1 team celebrated at Autosport International

A major exhibit at the NEC was Williams 40th anniversary feature. The sell out interactive attraction included displays of cars and memorabilia spanning the history of the Grove based team that was founded in 1977 by Sir Frank Williams and Sir Patrick Head .

From one of Willam’s earliest cars the FW07 to Nigel Mansell’s 1992 Championship winning FW14B to the present Williams Martini car, there was a wealth of  British Formula 1 history on display, allowing visitors to immerse themselves in the heritage of the team.

Making appearances across the event were a number of Williams figures including deputy team principal Claire Williams , Rob Smedley Head of Race Engineering and new driver Lance Stroll.

Announced this week, joining rookie Stroll for the 2017 season at Williams, is Felipe Massa. Massa who retired from the team and Formula 1 last November has re-signed with Williams allowing outgoing driver Valtteri Bottas to sign with Mercedes after Nico Rosbergs shock retirement announcement at the end of last season.


Drivers for the team have included Ayrton Senna, Keke Rosberg, Jenson Button, Damon Hill, Nigel Mansell, Alain Prost and Nelson Piquet.

Achieving 9 Constructors Championships and 7 Drivers Championships, the team made their Formula 1 debut at the Spanish Grand Prix in 1977 and have amassed 114 race victories.  To celebrate the 40th year of the team and in an alteration of the current numbering system, the 2017 car has been named FW40.


Allison Remzi                                           Images ©Andy Fitzpatrick