MSN Rally Championship-Rockingham round

It was a full on 2 days of circuit rally action at a bitterly cold Rockingham Speedway this weekend, for the 3rd round of the MSN Rally Championship. The stars of the show were Rhys Yates & co-driver Tom Woodburn in their Ford Fiesta R5. The pair took all but one of the 12 stages, conceding to James Giddings and Dan Johnson in their Citroen C2 GT in the 11th stage.  But no one could do enough to keep the rising Chesterfield star off of the top spot by the end of day two. A first overall win for Yates, topping off a year which saw him finish 32nd in his debut entry in the World Rally Championship.

Rhys Yates Photo ©

Taking  2nd place were Bruce Edwards & Jim Smith in their Darrian T9 GTR. The duo consistently pushed all weekend, rarely out of the top few positions across the stages and improving on the previous two rounds at Oulton and Cadwell Park. At the end of the round Edwards is now 4th in the drivers Championship.

Bruce Edwards & Jim Smith’s Darrian Photo ©

Behind them in 3rd across this weekends stages with just an overall 18 second gap were Alan Kirkaldy and Cameron Fair in their Ford Escort Mk2.

Alan Kirkaldy & Cameron Fair ©

This now leaves Paul Swift who finished overall 5th in the Rockingham round, at the top of the Championship leader board. The Championship resumes at Brands Hatch in January with the final round at Cadwell Park in April.

Paul Swift currently leading the championship Photo ©



Allison Remzi           Header photo ©