NISMO engines come to an end in the LMP2 class

The FIA World Enduance Championship class will now move over to Gibson powerplant for 2017.  This follows a change in the FIA WEC regulations to move to a more cost effective, class wide, single engine supplier. Also introduced is a limit to only four chassis constructors in the class.

LMP2 G-Drive Racing, won the FIA World Endurance Championship for the final time powered by a NISMO engine Photo ©Andy Fitzpatrick

The Nissan engine has been very successful in LMP2, in its first year achieving 5 out 8 race wins and 35 consecutive FIA WEC wins since 2013. In the European Le Mans Series Nissan chalked up six consecutive LMP2 championships.   In the 24 Hours of Le Mans,  victories by Greaves Motorsport (2011), OAK Racing (2013), Jota Sport (2014), KCMG (2015) and Signatech Alpine (2016) were all powered by Nissan.

Nissan will continue in LMP3 and also in the Asian Le Mans series with the VK45DE engine.


Allison Remzi                                          Header photo ©Andy Fitzpatrick