Walter Hayes Trophy, Grand Final Day

Day 2 of The Walter Hayes Trophy and the opening race saw Kyle Kirkwood, complete a very impressive race with him finishing a full 5 minutes ahead of Ben Norton in P2 and Scott Andrews in P3. 17 year old Team USA Scholarship driver,  Kyle has advanced from karting and this year competed in Formula 4 in the US.

The Last Chance Race found Scott Andrews in first this time. Stephen Daly in 2nd and Kyle Kirkwood again on the podium in 3rd. With previous P3 winner Ben Norton in 4th.

Scott Andrews and Ben Norton – ©Andy Fitzpatrick

The Allcomers Open Wheel race was a chance to see some fantastic racing by some incredible cars, including a Chevron B37, March 73A, Tatuus MSV F4-016 and Dallara F301. In P3 was Neil Glover in his stunning Chevron B37 , P2 saw Cian Carey in his Dallara F311 and in first Jamie Brashaw completing the 20 laps in 18:39.787 and a top speed of 105.3 miles per hour in his superb March 73A.

Jamie Brashaw’s March 73A – ©Andy Fitzpatrick

As the rain started to move into Silverstone, in time for the the first Semi-Final race, another Team USA Scholarship driver, Oliver Askew held court in first position with Michael Moyers in P2 and Joey Foster in P3.  The race wasn’t without incident when Matthew Cowley and Bas Leinders went out of the race on the third lap after Leinders car was hit from the side.

Oliver Askew – ©Andy Fitzpatrick

Next up was the Allcomers Closed Wheel race which saw a great grid of cars with the likes of Radical’s PR6 and SR8 racing against Ginetta G40’s, Lotus MK8 and a Volkswagen beetle. The Radical cars dominated with Jon-Paul Ivey in P1 in the PR6 and Richard Fearns in the SR8 in P2 with Oliver Bryant taking P3 in a Lola T70 Spyder.

The Radical’s – ©Andy Fitzpatrick

Race 15 was The Extra Go Trophy for Non Historic Formula Ford Consolation Race which saw Bas Leinders back on the grid in the 12th row. In worsening conditions that saw several cars knocked out of the race, Thomas Cappezone took 1st with Jack Wolfenden in 2nd and Alex Ames in 3rd, Bas Leinders finishing in 7th position.

In the Historic Formula Ford Race Consolation Race, Fernando Ribiero  in the notable Jesus Saves car finished 8th  and Thierry Boissiere in the Rondeau M585 finished 26th.

Fernando Ribeiro’s Jesus Saves car – Photo ©Andy Fitzpatrick








Taking P1 was Neil Tofts in a Reynard 88FF, in P2 Nigel Thompson in a Van Diemen RF88 and P3 Andrew Blair in a Reynard.


The Grand Final grid lines up – ©Andy Fitzpatrick

So the grid lined up for the Grand Final in very wet weather, with Irishman Niall Murray in pole position, and the rest of the front 3 rows comprising of Oliver Askew, Michael Moyers, Stuart Gough, Wayne Boyd and Joey Foster. Some thrilling racing followed which saw Niall Murray completely dominate the race in the challenging conditions and finish in 1st place with Oliver Askew in 2nd and Josh Fisher in 3rd.


Neil Murray ©Andy Fitzpatrick
Niall Murray ©Andy Fitzpatrick

Niall’s win meant he is the only driver to win the The Martin Donnelly Trophy, Formula Ford Festival and Walter Hayes Trophy in the same year.


Oliver Askew, Niall Murray & Josh Fisher ©Andy Fitzpatrick

The podium complete, the drivers were awarded their trophy’s by racing legend Jackie Stewart, who congratulated the winners and commented of Niall Murray “that it was about time for a Formula 1 winner from Ireland”.

Jackie Stewart and event organiser James Beckett © Andy Fitzpatrick
Jackie Stewart and event organiser James Beckett © Andy Fitzpatrick

Also awarded was Tom McArthur as the Pre 90 winner, Tom received the Janet Cesar Memorial Trophy.


Allison Remzi             All Photo’s including header ©Andy Fitzpatrick