Walter Hayes Trophy, all the Formula Ford action from day 1

A great, fast paced day of racing was held at Silverstone today for the first day of the HSCC Walter Hayes Trophy Formula Ford event.

The weather stayed fair for a brisk morning of qualifying before the Heat races in the afternoon.

Photo @Andy Fitzpatrick


16 year old Jordan Dempsey won the Heat 1 race. Dempsey has won several young racing driver awards and is in his first year in Formula Ford. In P2  was Matt Hamilton and P3  Rob Barrable.

The Heat 2 race was won by Robert Hall a previous Walter Hayes podium finisher.  In P2 was Stuart Gough and P3 Felix Fisher.

Wayne Boyd the former British Formula Ford Champion and current European Le Mans Series driver won the Heat 3 race.   Niall Murray who took 2nd place in the Heat 3 race completed the fastest race lap at 1:02.299, he gave winner Wayne Boyd  a hard race with just a 0.093 gap between them.

Joey Foster won the Heat 4 race. Foster, former Le Mans Series driver, Formula Ford winner, Australian Formula 3 Championship and current British GT driver was joined on the podium by Luke Williams in 2nd place and Michael Moyers in 3rd place.

Ed Moore was the winner of the heat 5 race with Canadian Parker Thompson in second place and Neville Smith in 3rd.

Heat 6 race saw a restart after an incident involving Jonathan Lewis then  Stephen Daly and James Raven. Team USA’s Oliver Askew went on to take 1st with Graham Carroll in 2nd and in 3rd Bas Leinders the former Formula 3, FIA GT Champion driver, and Formula 1 test driver who started his career in Formula Ford.

Bas Leinders         Photo @Andy Fitzpatrick

In the Closed Wheel Allcomers Post ’69 Race, Andrew Schryver took P1 in his Chevron B26. And in the Closed Wheel Allcomers Pre’70 race George Dawes won in a Merlyn MK6A.

Allison Remzi       All photo’s @Andy Fitzpatrick