Dovizioso wins Malaysian Moto GP

Andrea Dovizioso has won the Malaysian GP with Valentino Rossi in 2nd place and Jorge Lorenzo joining them on the podium in 3rd position.

It is Dovizioso’s first win for Ducati, his last win being the British GP in 2009 with Repsol Honda.

Dovizioso is the ninth winner this season out of seventeen races.


Andrea Dovizioso at Silverstone in 2014  Photo ©Andy Fitzpatrick


The wet race which saw a delayed start,  provided difficult conditions in which Cal Crutchlow, Andrea Iannone and Yonny Hernandez crashed out. Crutchlow, who raced with an injured hand, spilled on the 12th lap.

Champion Marc Marquez also crashed later in the 12th lap but got back on to finish in 11th place.

Great Britain’s Bradley Smith and Scott Redding finished in 14 and 15 respectively.

Allison Remzi